Kinexus ultra+

The Kinexus ultra+ rheometer has the highest sensitivity air bearing and widest torque range, coupled with the unprecedented vertical (axial) control capabilities of the Kinexus platform, for advanced rheological testing. Unique sequence-driven rSpace software enables fully customizable test design to allow researchers to set-up and investigate tailored rheological test protocols.

Infos / Datasheet

Kinexus is a rotational rheometer system that applies controlled shear deformation to a sample under test, to enable measurement of flow properties (such as shear viscosity from flow tests) and dynamic material properties (such viscoelastic modulus and phase angle from oscillation tests).

A rotational rheometer system comprises several key components to enable robust, reliable and accessible rheological measurements for a particular sample or application:

  • Rheometer base unit. Control of key system functions, including torque (for stress control), rotational position change (for strain or rate control), normal force and vertical position change (for sample loading and gap set).
  • Measuring system or geometry. The measuring system is the link between the rheometer and the sample, and defines the applied shear field. The type of measuring system must be appropriate to the sample type and the test under consideration.
  • Temperature or environmental control unit. Accurate control is essential since rheological properties are a strong function of temperature and environmental conditions.
  • Instrument software. Rheological testing can be, by its nature, relatively complex to set up. Malvern’s cornerstone Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) approach to material testing has been enhanced in rSpace software to revolutionize and simplify user interaction, and to bring ‘expert system’ guidance and SOP-driven testing to rheological measurements for the first time.

technical Details

Torque range – Viscometry (rate and stress control)
1.0nNm – 250mNm
Torque range – Oscillation (strain and stress control)
0.5nNm – 250mNm
Torque resolution
0.05nNm
Position resolution
<10nrad
Angular velocity range
1nrads-1 to 500rads-1
Step change in strain
<10ms
Frequency range
6.28µrads-1 to 942rads-1 (1µHz to 150Hz)
Motor inertia
12µN.m.s2
Normal Force range
0.001N – 50N
Normal Force resolution
0.5mN
Normal Force response time
<10ms
Vertical lift speed
0.1µms-1 to 35mms-1
Vertical lift range (measureable)
230mm
Gap resolution (over full vertical lift range)
0.1µm

Rotations-Rheometer Kinexus ultra+

Das Kinexus ultra+ vereint den größten Drehmomentbereich und den größten Winkelgeschwindigkeitsbereich und ist daher für rheologische Forschungslabore bestens geeignet. Die Benutzerfreundlichkeit steht im Vordergrund. Die rSpace Software ermöglicht rheologische Tests über Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) bzw. Versuchsroutinen, die unternehmensweit genutzt werden können. Das Kinexus ultra+ ist das Flaggschiff der Kinexusserie.

Infos / Datenblatt

Das Kinexus ist ein Kegel- / Plattenrheometer für die Charakterisierung der Fließeigenschaften und der viskoelastischen Eigenschaften Ihrer Proben, ob Emulsion, Suspension bis hin zum weichen Festkörper. Die Bestimmung der Viskosität erfolgt in Rotation, die Bestimmung der viskoelastischen Eigenschaften erfolgt in Oszillation.

Ein Rotationsrheometer besteht aus mehreren Schlüsselkomponenten:

  • Basiseinheit: Steuerung der wichtigsten Systemfunktionen wie Schubspannungssteuerung und Scherratensteuerung in Rotation und Deformationssteuerung in Oszillation, sowie Steuerung der vertikalen Position und Normalkraft zur Probenbefüllung und Einstellung des Messspalt, Automatische Erkennung der Messgeometrien;
  • Messsystem bzw. Messgeometrie: Das Messsystem ist die Verbindung zwischen Rheometer und der zu messenden Probe. Um die Vielzahl der möglichen Proben abdecken zu können steht eine breite Auswahl an Messgeometrien zur Verfügung.
  • Temperiereinheit: Für die Messung der Fließeigenschaften ist eine präzise Temperaturregelung essenziell. Beim Kinexus sind die Temperiereinheiten als Cartridges ausgeführt. Dadurch ist das Gerät sehr flexibel und lässt sich rasch umbauen.
  • Geräte-Software: Die richtungsweisende Software rSpace vereinigt in sich die Bedürfnisse von QC-Labors, Entwicklungslabors und Forschung. Die Software ist modular aufgebaut und sehr flexibel um den Bedürfnissen von Forschung und Entwicklung gerecht zu werden.
    Die Modularität beruht auf sehr fundamentalen Messaktionen die mit „Drag and Drop“ zu kompletten Messsequenzen zusammengefügt werden können.
    Die Software ist optimal für QC-Anwendungen geeignet, weil die Messsequenzen auf „run only“ gesetzt und fertig parametriert für Routinemessungen in der Qualitätssicherung zum Einsatz kommen können.

technische Details

Rotations – Drehmomentbereich:
1.0nNm – 250mNm
Oszillations – Drehmomentbereich:
0.5nNm – 250mNm
Drehmomentauflösung
0.05nNm
Winkelauflösung
<10nrad
Winkelgeschwindigkeit
1nrads-1 to 500rads-1
Sprungansteuerungszeit
<10ms
Frequenzbereich
6.28µrads-1 to 942rads-1 (1µHz to 150Hz)
Massenträgheit
12µN.m.s2
Normalkraftbereich
0.001N – 50N
Normalkraftauflösung
0.5mN
Normalkraft Ansprechzeit
<10ms
Liftgeschwindigkeit
0.1µms-1 to 35mms-1
Liftmessbereich
230mm
Messspalt Auflösung
0.1µm